Toronto (26) 27-30 June 2019, 20th Annual Convention of the Media Ecology Association (MEA) – a four-day international conference hosted by the University of St. Michael’s College in the University of Toronto.


A network of high-profile academic and cultural institutions have created a joint venture to promote and implement Media Ethics: Human Ecology in a Connected World, the 20th Annual Convention of the Media Ecology Association.

Presented by

In collaboration with

Cultural and Media Supporters

Conference Partners

Under the Patronage of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO

Conference Committees

Conference Chair

Paolo Granata, University of Toronto
Vice-president Media Ecology Association

Organizing Committee

Paolo Granata (chair), Michael Czobit, Emma Graham, Paul Grosswiler, Alex Kuskis, Andrey Miroshnichenko, Phil Rose, Paul Soukup (treasurer), Brian Taylor (McLuhan Salons), Edward E. Tywoniak.

Program Committee

Cathy Adams, Corey Anton, Stephanie Bennett, Adriana Braga, William Buxton, Dennis Cali, Seth Feldman, Thomas Gencarelli, Robert Logan, Karen Lollar, James Morrison, Felan Parker, Valerie Peterson, Scott Stroud.

Honorary Committee

Cristina Amon, Randy Boyagoda, Wendy Duff, Sébastien Goupil, Anna-Liza Kozma, Gail Lord, Anne MacLennan, Rohinton Medhora, David Nostbakken, Seamus Ross, David Sylvester, Christine Tappolet.

Student Volunteers

Catherine Doherty, Scott Duff, Krista Gjataj, William Nguyen, Bianca Piccone, Neo Yin, Adrian Yung, Zuha Ziaee.

Research Assistants

Simon Digby, David Lee, Jennifer Qian Li